Trees make a beautiful scenery

I admire the simple beauty of art. I am fascinated by the different ways we capture it. I love how it makes one feel powerful and optimistic. Art can make one feel like he or she is on top of the world. I had the opportunity to feel that way while working with a woman at Mosaic. There was something so beautiful and special aIMG_0605bout the interaction I had with her. I met her during one of the art classes. She lived in the Mosaic shelter with her five-year old son.

Our project for the day was to paint a picture. We decided that it was too nice outside to paint inside. So we went outside to paint. There was something so magical about the breeze that day. I felt like the wind was talking to me. As we painted, we talked about beautiful days and sad days. We talked about the awkwardness of the tress and the strangeness of the clouds. She told me about her home country and its beauties. Her home country is Kenya. She wants to go back someday.

She was very hesitant during our first interaction. But, later she loosened up and opened up about her life . She told me about her travels and her work as a model in different countries, hinting that she did not work as a fashion model. But, as a model in the sex industry. Before coming to America, she lived in Russia, all over Europe, Trinidad, and Kenya (her home country). The Mosaic shelter was the most comfortable place she had lived.IMG_1541

I will admit I was very nervous about how this day was going to end, especially since I was working with one woman. The other women in the shelter did not want to participate in the art class. Many of them wanted to sit around the shelter and relax. However, it took one interaction with one woman to change my mood of the day. That woman painted one of the most beautiful picture I have seen. She also said painting made her day because it gave her a reason to hope. I have never seen someone so proud of their work as she was. She was so excited to hang her work on the wall. She wanted everyone to know she painted that picture.

Leave a Reply

